Manav Kataria's Blog

Tolerance of my Ego

My identity is important to me. I generally find it difficult to let-go of a self-image of myself.

I’ve seen people, like JC and Abhisekh for example – who have the ability to win the crowd almost like magic. To an untrained eye, it might be magic but for an observant communicator there is more to it – The ability to let-go of ego.

orkut

My Orkut Homepage

I use Orkut. Every other day I see people playing with their display names and treating their identity like post-it! I don’t really like it. Today after reading about Michael Jackson, I felt like giving him a personal tribute. I changed my display pic and Orkut status msg and dedicated it to him.

How does it feel? Not having your Identity?

I was disobeying my own principles! And mind you, I detest hypocrites! It took some time for the feeling to sink in … Not having an identity for a day. People reading my scraps would be confused! When they visit my profile they might get annoyed not being able to figure out who it was!

There was turbulence, but a mild one. I’ve recently had an attitude shift. Thanks to the great examples I see around me – both fictional and real, I take it up as a task for personal-development. An exercise, to sober down…🙂

Manav

PS: Tolerance, I will win you…

2 responses

  1. Hotch

    Very well expressed. I always knew you liked the concept of “knowing” both the people and yourself without the abstract bifurcation, but I did not know you relate that on the same lines as an individual’s ego. In my opinion, holding on to the person you are could just mean..”being at peace with your own existence and identification” without being carrief away by the responsibilities that tag along.

    July 4, 2009 at 4:46 am

    • manavkataria

      Thanks for the comment! Tho’ I do not understand what ‘abstract bifurcation’ and ‘responsibilities’ do you refer to?

      July 8, 2009 at 5:02 am

Leave a Reply

